Stonehenge: Blinded by the Light

14484692_10210420295805266_2476433025981695477_n

For those of you with a real interest in Stonehenge and its always-fascinating landscape, I would urge you to visit the truly excellent website run by my friend Tim Daw. As just one example of the many engaging things that Tim has to say on the subject of Stonehenge, here is a page that tells the story (with photographs) of how he recently drove to inspect an ongoing excavation taking place at the site where the proposed Stonehenge tunnel will appear, to the west of the monument.

As you’ll quickly discover for yourself if you read the relevant page on Tim’s site, he encountered a gentleman wearing a Wessex Archaeology jacket, who Tim says told him that he had to record everyone that drove up and down the byway they were on as it was “sensitive” excavating the World Heritage Site. I found this strange, because I excavated within the same World Heritage Site on numerous occasions when I worked for Wessex Archaeology from January 2000 to August 2003, while I also excavated there a few times afterwards as well, but I was never required to record the presence of anyone else while I was working on this landscape.

And now I learn of another development, illustrated in large part by the picture at the top of this post, but it will make matters simpler if I quote directly from the relevant post on Tim’s Facebook page: “#Stonehenge tunnel and the winter #Solstice. Andy Rhind-Tutt (the former mayor of Amesbury and someone who has long taken a keen interest in Stonehenge and its landscape) makes the very valid point that if the western portal to the tunnel is built where Wessex Archaeology are digging at the moment the lights from the tunnel entrance and approach road will be directly in line with the winter solstice sunset, the most important view at Stonehenge. No more last flash as the sun goes down, just an orange glow….The site of the dig is marked with an orange triangle, and connects to the approach road marked with a thick orange line. The solstitial alignment is the thin line through the monument.”

In other news, we were informed yesterday of the discovery of a dog’s tooth at the excavation at Blick Mead, an object found by another friend of mine, coincidentally. Today’s newspapers had a great deal to say about this ancient tooth, as it appears to have belonged to a dog resembling a modern Alsatian that made its way to Stonehenge and to Blick Mead – probably with a human owner – from York, 250 miles to the north, around 7,000 years ago.

All this material about a big dog with a presence at a prehistoric site linked with the notion of healing immediately put me in mind of Apollo Cunomaglus, or the Great Hound Lord, a deity recorded in an inscription at Nettleton Shrub in Wiltshire, a place also close to water that was apparently a healing sanctuary or the centre of a healing cult, as some suppose Stonehenge itself to have been.

It also immediately put me in mind of a discovery made by my daughter Tanith 5 or 6 years ago, when I was poring over some strange written material dating back decades that I’d been sent in relation to the Heel Stone at Stonehenge.

 

SI Exif

Apollo Cunomaglus?

In brief, she discerned the outline of a gigantic hound on the Heel Stone (see above) and I realise that, as a result of a laser scan survey conducted a few years back at Stonehenge, this likeness was never carved. Nonetheless, if I and countless others can now see this strange creature, then it seems to me inevitable that our ancestors would have discerned it as well, while I’m as certain as I can possibly be that this precise animal is recorded in some great detail in a mediaeval ‘account’ of Stonehenge.

I could continue at enormous length about this, but it will have to wait for another time. For now, it’s natural that I feel a warm, rosy glow when I think of the recent discovery at Blick Mead, which I feel was a virtual inevitability given the association of dogs at Stonehenge, but it looks as if this rosy glow is going to be eclipsed by the illumination from the western portal of the ‘Stonehenge Tunnel’, if as now seems sure, this construction is going ahead.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth”
Marcus Aurelius (allegedly).

Cerca-Trova

This entry was posted in Antiquities, Current Affairs, Magic & the Supernatural, Stonehenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stonehenge: Blinded by the Light

  1. Dan H. says:

    With a bit of care in the planning, which I think English Heritage will insist upon, I don’t think the proposed tunnel entrance would really be much of a problem. For a start, it won’t be lit with low-pressure sodium lamps, because modern planning insists on something a bit more economical and more directed than these rather antiquated devices.

    Secondly, the tunnel entrance won’t be at ground level. Going from a ground level road to a tunnel which will have to be bored, not a cut & cover job because of the sensitivity of the landscape will necessitate an approach road that is substantially sunk into the ground. The approach will thus be down a canyon, with the actual portal being several metres below the surface.

    Thirdly, this is a world heritage site where the purpose and local sensitivities clearly known. As such, I would strongly suggest to the builders that they really would like to put ANPR average speed cameras onto the road, to enforce a 50 MPH limit most of the time. For the actual day of the solstice, a limit of 30 MPH could be enforced, to go along with substantially dimming the LED road lighting, so as not to ruin the view for onlookers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • eternalidol says:

      This all seems very sensible and straightforward, but you’re far more optimistic about Stonehenge-related matters than I am. I hope I’m proved completely wrong, but I can see this becoming yet another almighty mess, although I think I’d do better to devote a new post to the matter, than just a reply to a comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

