Apollo 10, the Music of the Spheres and Konstantin Raudive

Apollo 10I was fascinated to learn of the experience of the crew of the Apollo 10 spacecraft while they were orbiting the Moon in 1969. When their craft lost contact with Earth as it disappeared around the far side of the Moon, the crew all heard what they described as mysterious, otherworldly and inexplicable music, while the experience seems to have last for around an hour, or the duration of the time they were out of contact with Earth.

I’m not a scientist, so I can’t suggest any explanations – plausible or otherwise – for this bizarre phenomenon, while as far as I gather, everyone else is at a loss as well. I cannot help but be amazed that such notable and unusual recordings were buried in the archives for nearly 40 years, but there are two other aspects of this strange episode that intrigue and amaze me.

Clearly, I’ve not heard the recording in its entirety, but at roughly 50 seconds through the second video posted towards the bottom of this page, one commentator observes that under some conditions, the noises or music heard by the astronauts all those years ago “even sound, under some conditions, like weird, alien speech”, while it’s similarly described as a whistling or an unearthly howling sound elsewhere.

All this immediately put me in mind of something I read in one of my books decades ago, to the effect that Konstantin Raudive, a Latvian gentleman who became famous for investigating EVP or Electronic Voice Phenomena, was reputedly visited in 1969 or 1970 by engineers from NASA, who took a great interest in his work. All these things provide us with food for thought, one of the greatest gifts that we could ever wish for, but I suppose the aspect of the experience of the crew of Apollo 10 that made the biggest impression on me was their recorded extreme reluctance to speak to their superiors about what they’d heard, which naturally puts me in mind of the Apollonian “Curse of Cassandra”.

It’s perfectly understandable that these three men should have decided against speaking of their bizarre experience, because they were fearful that their mental stability would be questioned and that they’d subsequently be barred from further flights, or worse. These men are far from being alone in harbouring such fears, however, because I’ve read of numerous similar accounts over the years concerning aircraft pilots, commercial and military, who felt their sanity would be questioned if they reported seeing UFOs, as so many of them have done.

For as far back as I can remember, I’ve always advertised my interest in these things in whichever company I’ve found myself. As a result, I’ve heard stories of encounters with various entities and of prophecies and dreams that have come true; of communication with the dead, of spectral black dogs, trolls, fairies, demons and UFOs, of disembodied voices and much else besides. Some of these might provoke incredulity had I not personally experienced many similar things myself over the decades, so as I’ve stated in previous posts, I’m in the process of recording these strange experiences as best I can in a book that I’ve provisionally entitled Otherworld.

383px-The_music_of_the_spheres

This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Language, Magic & the Supernatural, Outer Space and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apollo 10, the Music of the Spheres and Konstantin Raudive

  1. Dr Dan H. says:

    Alternatively, since the lunar module had plenty of power supply kit on board, plus several radios, it could have been interference from their own equipment. Just saying, like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

