“And I Dream I Can Spread My Wings”

The international news is unrelentingly awful to the extent that it puts me in mind of the bleak, horrific visions recorded so often by Nostradamus in his famous work The Prophecies. Like every other person of goodwill, if I could make this planet a better, safer and more peaceful place by waving some magic wand, I would do so in an instant, but sadly, such a thing is beyond my powers.

It does not do to dwell on an inability to help the countless deserving causes that constantly present themselves to us, so everyone needs some respite from the depressing and almost mediaeval reports of floods, warfare, civil unrest, violence and disease with which we’re constantly bombarded.

There are many literary worlds into which I can happily retreat and lose myself, those created by poets and novelists, but if there is one sublime and serene vision above all others that is a literal transport of delight for me, it’s the song Eagle by ABBA that I’ve posted here, so if you’ve not heard it before or seen this video, I hope you derive as much pleasure and repose from it as I do.

This entry was posted in Current Affairs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “And I Dream I Can Spread My Wings”

  1. satanicviews says:

    Nature reminds that all things will find their natural level without intervention.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eternalidol says:

    There are a million songs and other pieces of wonderful music out there, but there’s something about this one that never fails to take me to one of Blake’s “realms of bliss”, while the sight of these unfettered creatures in the video adds to this feeling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

