The Future of Books and the Books of the Future

10386828_10152846997378311_5815089727936991832_n

Ever since I first started writing online, well over a decade ago, I’ve often felt compelled to mention that I sit here in my study surrounded by hundreds of books that I’ve collected over the years. I’m far from being alone in this, because I know that countless millions of other people the world over also take an enormous pleasure, albeit one that’s difficult to precisely define, in owning and being able to physically handle these amazing things.

The late, great Carl Sagan spoke eloquently about the subject of books on a number of occasions, but the observation that made the greatest impact on me was this: “What an astonishing thing a book is. It’s a flat object made from a tree with flexible parts on which are imprinted lots of funny dark squiggles. But one glance at it and you’re inside the mind of another person, maybe somebody dead for thousands of years. Across the millennia, an author is speaking clearly and silently inside your head, directly to you. Writing is perhaps the greatest of human inventions, binding together people who never knew each other, citizens of distant epochs. Books break the shackles of time. A book is proof that humans are capable of working magic.”

In addition to the incredible ability of being able to transport us through time, it’s evident that there can sometimes be something almost literally enchanting about the content of a book, inasmuch as it’s able to inspire wonderment in a reader. From the Epic of Gilgamesh to the Game of Thrones series, men and women have been able to create entire worlds in which we can happily lose ourselves for hours or even days on end, while the same principle applies to non-fiction creations as well.

For example, one of my many prized possessions is a 1987 hardback copy of Peter Wright’s once-notorious book Spycatcher, which was given to me by a friend who’d bought it in Australia at a time when it was banned here in Britain, but everyone reading this will immediately be able to compose their own lengthy list of what their favourite books are, along with passionate and detailed reasons for their choices.

I’m not aware that there exists a formula for writing a successful book, although as far as fiction is concerned, then it stands to reason that a writer’s ability to create memorable characters and to tell a compelling story is all-important, whether that tale is about Harry Potter, Hannibal Lecter, Mary Poppins or King Arthur. Mankind seems to be obsessed by the telling of stories, so I would imagine that an even more important element in the success of the aforementioned Spycatcher than the revelations it contained was the inside story recounted by the author, who regaled us with his emotive account of his attempts to identify a spy at the highest reaches of Britain’s intelligence services.

I could provide innumerable other examples of the power and the appeal that books possess and why this is the case for any given volume, but I have no intention of launching into even the most cursory examination of the history of publishing. Despite the comparatively recent advent of online publishing, I’m certain that physically-printed books will be with us for as long as there are human beings to revere them, so I found myself idly wondering about the nature of a book that people around the world would want to physically possess more than any other, if it were to come into existence now.

To begin with, I imagine it would be possible to present a reasonable case that characters such as King Arthur, Robin Hood, Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck, Mary Poppins and Harry Potter have an almost universal appeal. Not everyone likes them, of course, while some religious people have taken an intense dislike to Harry Potter in particular because they see the books and films in which he appears as actively promoting an engagement with unholy or demonic forces. Even if you allow for the apparently never-ending fount of creativity that exists in the human imagination and also for translators who might freely amend a work so as to make it more appealing to a particular culture, it’s hard to see how a work of fiction would become a physical book that would be more sought-after than anything else that’s gone before.

Such a thing is not impossible, of course, but bearing in mind the many obstacles involved with a fictional work, I thought instead of the world of non-fiction. In the eyes of their billions of devotees, as well as in the considered opinions of a number of historians, the holy books of our religions contain nothing but facts about historical personages and events, as well as revelations from a supernatural source, but I suspect that anyone reading this will immediately balk at the size and scale of the objections of trying to please all these people at the same time, for reasons I do not feel I need to spell out.

So, how could anyone begin to compose a work that would simultaneously please and appeal to a sizable majority of Christians, Muslims, Jews, Sikhs, Hindus, Buddhists and pagans, as well as people of other faiths and those who are atheists and agnostics? I suppose it would have to be a book dealing with a genuine discovery, something whose physical nature could not be disputed, that elicited wonderment in all who knew about it whose nature did not contradict any of the teachings of any of our holy books or religious leaders. It surely goes without saying that such a thing would also have to possess the power to enthrall our scientists, as well as the agnostics and atheists among us.

I can’t remember when I first became aware of it, but I’ve long been intrigued by the Fibonacci Sequence, a mathematical formula so simple that even I can understand it. The sequence begins with 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55 and continues in this way, with each number being the sum of the two that preceded it, aside from at the very beginning. The internet is full of detailed studies of this sequence that spell out its astonishing properties, but while I don’t pretend to understand them all, it fascinates me that so many things in creation, from snail shells here on Earth to vast spiral galaxies billions of light years distant from us, all have forms that exhibit the same mathematical properties.

th

In his 1985 novel Contact, Carl Sagan wrote “What I’m saying is, if God wanted to send us a message, and ancient writings were the only way he could think of doing it, he could have done a better job.” Beyond marvelling at it and at its properties, I honestly do not know what to make of the Fibonacci Sequence, nor do I know what if any views the world’s religious scholars hold on it. However, I would not be remotely surprised if some discerned in this sequence evidence of a divine hand or creator, while the fascination it holds for mathematicians and scientists is there for all to see.

My point is that if some genius had belatedly discovered this sequence two years ago instead of roughly two millennia ago, then had published his findings and story in an illustrated book that demonstrated the connection between spiral snail shells, storms and distant galaxies, then I’m certain that it would have instantly become a wonder of our age, a source of intense fascination for believers and non-believers alike.

Is it possible that someone could make a similar observation today, in our Age of Enlightenment? I cannot speak for mathematical formulae, because I would imagine that with the advent of computers and space exploration, every conceivable ratio and and geometrical relationship has been explored long ago. While it’s possible that some insightful genius will one day discern some previously unremarked-upon aspect of the world around us, perhaps pertaining to some commonplace thing such as fire, water or music that Mankind’s been familiar with for eons, there’s one other thing common to all humanity about which we seem to know very little; I refer of course to sleep, the curious state of consciousness that brings with it something even more mysterious, our dreams.

541913_825917407434341_1451752277_n

“If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, Infinite. For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things thro’ narrow chinks of his cavern.”
William Blake.

This entry was posted in Antiquities, Current Affairs, Dead Poets, Language, Magic & the Supernatural, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Future of Books and the Books of the Future

  1. Juris Ozols says:

    Dennis –

    Thoroughly enjoyed this post of yours. I have loved books my entire life and have my own library collection of hundreds, see the attached picture. Inspired by the post I made a rough attempt to estimate how many I presently own, and my guess is that it’s somewhere around 700. I counted the books in one shelf, multiplied that by the number of shelves in a bookshelf, and then multiplied that by the number of bookshelves I have. Thus about 700. But many more have passed through my hands from libraries.

    Bookcase

    My books go back to the 25-volume set of of Mark Twain’s 1907-1911 collection. Then I still have some of my college textbooks from the 1960’s, and on up to the present. The latest book that I purchased recently is Stephen Hawking’s illustrated “A Brief History of Time.” I have an earlier edition too but this one has lots of great pictures.

    So, (with some apologies!), let me raise the question of what are my favorite all-time books? Or how would I answer the classic question that if I were to be marooned on a desert Island, what books would I want to have with me?

    Here, in rank order are my top three selections:

    First – the Bible. The wisdom in that book, the insights into human nature, are inexhaustible. I have a number of different versions and favor King James just because of its poetry. But other versions also provide perspectives. As it happens I have the Bible in my native Latvian language too and it’s fascinating to see how language can affect the messages, with the sam passage sometimes given quite a different view.

    Second – the Iliad. Again, that book is about us, and captures the essence of humanity and its strengths and weaknesses. I was awestruck when I first read it. Not an easy read, you have to do some research in classic Greece to get it all, but truly monumental. A comment – I poked around online to check out various “100 Top Book,” lists, etc. And a number of them listed the Odyssey ahead of the Iliad. A travesty. It quickly became obvious that these lists are a sham, best avoided.

    Third – It gets harder. My inclination is to list Margaret Mitchell’s “Gone With the Wind.” A wonderful story. I think a person needs to read that book to begin to understand the American Civil War. But once agin it’s really about human nature, although t’s not in a class with the previous two.

    I’ll stop there. So many other books – Collected works of Shakespeare, War and Peace, on and on. But those are my top three.

    On Fibonacci. I totally agree with you. I’ve known about that curious mathematical formulation for a long time and find it far beyond understanding. (Incidentally, the number “pi” is also in that class,) I think those kinds of numbers offer a very ethereal glimpse into the nature of the universe, but our brains are incapable of grasping them. It’s kind of like trying to teach a dog the Pythagorean Theorem. It’s far beyond the dog’s intellect to understand, and I think it’s far beyond our intellect to understand Fibonacci and pi.

    Juris

    Liked by 1 person

    • eternalidol says:

      Thank you very much for this, Juris, and it’s always good to hear from a fellow bibliophile. I honestly don’t know what my top three would be, but I’m inclined to go for The Godfather, The Exorcist and Red Dragon, because they’re each lengthy, gripping novels crammed to bursting with fascinating observations about the subject matter each one deals in.

      On another day, however, I’d probably go for the Complete Works of Shakespeare and The Complete Sherlock Holmes for reasons I don’t suppose I need spell out, while I’d add as one book Bernard Cornwell’s Arthur trilogy to this list. Otherwise, I have only to glance around at the different books here to come up with twenty of thirty other ‘top three’ candidates, at least one of which would include The Odyssey, as well as The Aeneid, although I have the original hardback copies of Carl Sagan’s Cosmos and Comet as well, both of which are entrancing for their content and the eloquent way in which its written.

      As for the Fibonacci Sequence, then I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who finds something ethereal and perhaps mystical about it. This quality is undoubtedly what prompted my dream of last night and this nocturnal experience was so entrancing in and of itself that I bless the day I learned about the strange sequence that seems to have inspired it.

      Like

  2. eternalidol says:

    Here’s a fascinating feature on the recent discovery of 20 new lines belonging to the Epic of Gilgamesh, a work that I mentioned in the body of my post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

