Britunisia

Whenever I hear waves upon a shore
I’ll always think of how one June, two score
Of innocents who worshipped peace and sun
Were murdered by a monster with a gun.

I pray their gentle souls will find repose
I’m proud of how these peaceful folk all chose
This ancient land to realise a vision
Of friendship and of being Britunisian.

I realise, of course, that not all those who were slain in this attack were British, so I mean no disrespect to the families of those from other countries who are in mourning, but this was the best I could do by way of honouring all the living and the dead.

This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Mourning, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Britunisia

  1. satanicviews says:

    Met someone who cancelled their holiday to Tunisia today.

    Like

    • eternalidol says:

      That’s a terrible shame, for the person who cancelled their holiday and also for the Tunisians. It’s understandable that they’re afraid, though, but while I’m no statistician, I’m pretty sure I stand a greater chance of being run over by a tractor when I leave my home than I would of being killed by some crazed jihadi almost anywhere on Earth. From what I’ve seen of Tunisia, it looks a truly wonderful place, so I’d personally go on holiday there without a care in the world and out of sheer bloody-mindedness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

