A True History of Y Ddraig Goch, the Red Dragon

Flag_of_Wales_2.svg

Even if I might not be immediately deluged with responses or acknowledgements, I generally find that writing here pays off, either through the varying degrees of satisfaction I experience by committing my thoughts to print, or else because someone ‘out there’ sees something I’ve written and informs me of something interesting as a result.

In this instance, after The Daily Wales published my brief feature (see previous post), I was told about an essay on the red dragon written by Dr Evelien Bracke, entitled “Is the Welsh dragon the most important object in Welsh history?” It was one of the most informative, engaging and best-written pieces of its kind that I’ve seen in a long while, so for those of you with an interest in these arcane matters, I recommend you read it for yourselves.

Incidentally, the link was sent to me by my friend Isobel Brown, who runs a superb site on my hometown of Usk, for those of you who might be interested in this ancient capital of the Silures and its environs.

This entry was posted in Antiquities, Current Affairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A True History of Y Ddraig Goch, the Red Dragon

  1. Austin says:

    Serpents too played a larger role in the minds of the pre historic peoples of certainly central southern England than is currently generally recognised or acknowledged . Serpents and worms particularly firmly rooted to the earth itself, lacking any form of limbs who knows may have been observed as the bringers of the knowledge, blessings,life from inside the ‘womb’ of the earth itself .Any vestiges of the ‘serpent temples’ ruthlessly extinguished and demonised from those first moments in the garden of Eden, as a serpent is forever cast the role as instrumental in mans expulsion from paradise itself .

    Like

Leave a Reply

