A Dearth of Pagan Poetry

640px-DSC00355_-_Orfeo_(epoca_romana)_-_Foto_G._Dall'Orto

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been in awe of the Romantic poets and their myriad offerings. In modern times, there’s been a resurgence of paganism in Britain, with any number of people claiming to be bards, but I’ve yet to encounter any pagan-themed poetry – as opposed to song lyrics – that has made me sit up and take notice, let alone made a lasting impression. There may well be some gifted composers of verse out there, following on from the tradition of the ancient British Druids, but if there are, I’m afraid I’ve yet to encounter them.

After posting this, it’s inevitable that I’ll either discover some gem for myself, or else someone will point me towards some notable, modern pagan verse, but in the meantime, I was delighted to have found the following:

The moon on the one hand, the dawn on the other:
The moon is my sister, the dawn is my brother.
The moon on my left and the dawn on my right.
My brother, good morning: my sister, good night.

Hilaire Belloc’s Early Morning.

 

 

 

Photo of Orpheus mosaic: “DSC00355 – Orfeo (epoca romana) – Foto G. Dall’Orto” by Foto di Giovanni Dall’Orto – Own work. Licensed under Attribution via Wikimedia Commons –

This entry was posted in Dead Poets, Language and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Dearth of Pagan Poetry

    • eternalidol says:

      Jane, that is just wonderful, so thank you very much indeed for this. Even better, I love the reading, which I’ll listen to many times tonight without doubt, as it’s one of those works that take you to another place removed from this world, a bit like Odysseus on Calypso’s island – thank you again šŸ™‚

      Like

    • eternalidol says:

      I’m glad I qualified what I wrote in the post, because I’ve obviously been looking in all the wrong places for all these years – thank you, Red Raven, and anything inspired by Gwyn ap Nudd has got to be worth reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. eternalidol says:

    In recent times, I’ve read and heard some utter dross as far as modern pagan poetry’s concerned, so I must have been looking the all the wrong places and developed tunnel vision as a result. With this in mind, I’m extremely grateful to Jane and to Red Raven for enlightening me and I look forward to reading more.

    Decades ago, Lyall Watson wrote of his belief that many aspects of modern physics were best explained through the medium of blank verse and I’ve come to appreciate the truth of this. Having ploughed my weary way through endless archaeological reports that were barely recognisable as English, I’m certain that precisely the same principle applies to Stonehenge, Silbury Hill and others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

