Jack Price, A Traveller in an Antique Land

10013642_10201908144264635_185376386291999420_n

The photograph above means more to me than any other I can remember seeing for a long time. It shows my son Jack gazing into the setting sun from some remote spot in the Atacama Desert, on the other side of the world, and thousands of miles away from his home here in rural Devon. If you have children of your own, then no other words are necessary, while if you don’t have children, then I doubt that even a medium-sized book could adequately convey what this photograph means to me.

I’ve seen many other photographs of Jack’s adventures in South America, some of them in what you might describe as considerably less serene settings than the one I’ve just described above, where “the lone and level sands stretch far away”. In recent times, I’ve been somewhat less than my usual dynamic self, so I couldn’t possibly be happier that Jack is feasting on all the many vibrant and intoxicating wonders that this beautiful world of ours has to offer.

10678825_10201878753729890_1849466731106247854_n

“‘Scuse me while I kiss the sky…”

This entry was posted in Antiquities, Dead Poets, Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack Price, A Traveller in an Antique Land

  1. Those are both stunning photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eternalidol says:

    Aynslie, I don’t know what else to say other than that my mind reels when I look at them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

