Abandoning the Quest

Cups04

I don’t overly enjoy writing, but for some reason I can’t pin down, it’s something I feel compelled to do, although this compulsion becomes less powerful the longer my ill-health continues. Having said that, I’ve deliberately kept my study of the scientific stranglehold of Stonehenge away from my attention for a while, because I’ve learned that such things are greatly improved when they’re revisited after a few months, when the red mist in which they were composed has settled slightly.

I’ll get around to finishing it in a little while, but in the meantime, I’m starting work tonight on another essay with the provisional title of Abandoning the Quest – A Change in the Climate of the Mind. This has nothing to do with Stonehenge or the other British antiquities I’ve been studying for so long, as I can’t conceive of a time when I’d lose interest in them, but this essay’s been prompted by my personal circumstances combined with another re-reading of Richard Cavendish’s superlative book King Arthur and the Grail – The Arthurian Legends and Their Meaning.

“If the fool would persist in his folly, he would become wise”.

William Blake

This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Abandoning the Quest

  1. Austin says:

    Intriguing as always Dennis, and I look forward reading your completed essay .The William Blake quote immediately bought to mind another of his closely associated, ‘the path of excess leads to the tower of wisdom . I do hope a slumbering EI awakens from hibernation soon , as I sorely miss this superb resource.

    Like

Leave a Reply

