The Winning Stonehenge Raffles

_77412257_obamna

As I’ve said before, I lived on Salisbury Plain for around a decade, from 1996 to 2005, and during that time, I visited Stonehenge around three times a week. Of course, I soon lost count of how many times I visited the ruins, but I always took something away with me because Stonehenge is the gift that keeps on giving. With this in mind, I was delighted to learn that the Raffles family had decided to go to the monument when they heard that President Obama was there and they were rewarded with what sounds like a very pleasant chat with him, as well as footage of their meeting and the photo you see above.

The Raffles certainly won the top prize this time around and I couldn’t be happier for them, while I’m also very pleased that President Obama seems to have enjoyed his visit to Stonehenge as much as he did. Little wonder, because it is one of the most enthralling places on the face of the Earth and the magic that’s so evident there shows no signs of being extinguished over ten thousand years after our remote ancestors began to actively revere this strange location. If you’ve not already visited the place, then I would urge you to do so, to experience for yourself the aura that still hangs over these apparently lifeless and abandoned megaliths.

This entry was posted in Stonehenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

