Silbury Frills

I had no shortage of material with which to compose Where the Cold Winds Blow: A Study of the Scientific Stranglehold on Stonehenge, and as I write this, I’m preparing it for publication on Amazon. However, I’ve just been told about this fascinating feature on Silbury Hill in Marlborough News Online, so I’m going to have to return to my manuscript and include it, because it’s entirely relevant to my case and it is simply far too good to leave out.

Aside from any other consideration, it immediately occurred to me that there is indeed a possible link between the River Thames and Silbury Hill, but it hasn’t appeared in this piece and I very much doubt it was in the Current Archaeology piece from which the Marlborough News Online article was taken. Rather than write to the editor or submit a comment, however, I’ll include it in Where the Cold Winds Blow, but if you can’t wait for this study to appear, then I’m sure that you can very easily work it out for yourselves, as everything you need to know is squarely in the public domain, is freely available and has been for a long time. Whether it constitutes proof or a convincing case is another matter entirely, but the joy surely lies in trying to form something that makes some kind of sense from the tenuous, shifting shadows of the past.

“The power of Thought” The magic of the Mind!”
Lord Byron.

This entry was posted in Antiquities, Silbury Hill, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Silbury Frills

  1. Robin Melrose says:

    I like the idea that Silbury Hill marked the source of the Thames. The article doesn’t mention this, but Marden henge also had an equivalent of Silbury Hill called the Hatfield Barrow, which collapsed in the early 19th century after William Cunnington excavated it.

    Like

    • eternalidol says:

      Robin, if you look towards the bottom of the article, you’ll see a link to another much lengthier one that mentions Marden. I’m not sure what I think about the idea that Silbury marked the source of the Thames, although I think there’s another possible link between the river and the mound that is slightly more convincing. I have to say that as far as official scientific theories concerning Silbury Hill are concerned, I’m still bewitched by the final frames of a documentary I saw some years ago, after the archaeologists had been into Silbury Hill at the same time that others were trying to repair damage done by previous archaeologists.

      The frames in question showed an attractive female presenter, who gazed with doe eyes and raven tresses into the camera and murmured something along the lines of “….And so, with every basketful of soil, our ancestors re-affirmed their links with the land and with each other……” As a profound, detailed insight into the hill, that takes some beating, so I’m sticking with it until something even more convincing comes along.

      Like

    • eternalidol says:

      I was going to save this for Where the Cold Wind Blows, but there’s plenty of other material there already. I see that the name ‘Thames’ is apparently an ancient one meaning something like ‘O Dark One’ – I’ve seen a fair few rivers in my time in Britain, but unless they were in flood and carrying silt, the water in them all looked the same to me. I find myself wondering, therefore, why any person in prehistory would call a river ‘dark’ and I can’t help thinking that on balance, it was probably due to some spiritual quality or qualities the river possessed, although it’s possible it might be something to do with high banks or trees that shaded the water.

      Could we view Silbury Hill in a similar way? I certainly think so, because I’ve always found something baleful, although non-threatening about the place, while if it was ever a ‘special place’ such as a presumed entrance to the Otherworld, as seems likely to me, then the Otherworld, Underworld or Annwn was almost by definition a dark place of some kind. And as the biggest prehistoric mound (manmade) in Europe, then it certainly threw a proportionately outsize shadow, but I could continue in this vein for a while yet; I have no idea how old the word Thames is, but I see that at least one person believes it predates Indo-European.

      Otherwise, I see that one possible meaning of the word ‘Thames’ is ‘muddy’, which immediately made me think of the supposed dance floor or muddy layer that was one of the earliest elements of the hill.

      Like

Leave a Reply

